Trader Joe’s: A busy student’s lifeline

11 Mar

I get about 80% of my groceries from Trader Joe’s. While they don’t always have the freshest produce, their prices are reasonable (especially for NYC!) and they have an amazing frozen food section that’s superior to most supermarkets. One of the most versatile frozen foods that I’ve found are their Saucy Scallops with Mushrooms. If you’re looking for sushi grade scallops, you’ve come to the wrong place. You can find those at your nearest Whole Foods, but be prepared to spend your whole paycheck.

The problem I find with most frozen foods it that they really skimp on some of the ingredients. Ideally, the saucy scallops would be overflowing with mushrooms and maybe some spinach. But since I’m cooking this at home, I add more mushrooms and spinach.

I treat it as a sauce and add it pasta, rice, mixed vegetables, etc. Pretty much anything you put pasta sauce on, you can these saucy scallops on.

Leave a comment